Pantoum: A Portion of Life

20170601_132151I lie awake in the early hours of the day,

Afraid of what life has to share with me next.

Eyes closed. Ears Shut.

I hate myself for feeding this fear.

 

Afraid of what life has to share with me next,

I flinch at every sound.

I hate myself for feeding this fear.

Yet the past robbery of my joy is all too recent

 

I flinch at every sound,

Because memories are like old wounds

Yet the past robbery of my joy is all too recent

Still, I’m fighting to recover what’s left of my faith

 

Because memories are like old wounds

The scars will eventually show that…

Still, I’m fighting to recover what’s left of my faith.

When life gives me its portion I’ll give it my measure of hope and faith.

 

Sidenote: this poem stems from my daily struggle to cope with the transition of my sweet grandmother. Thank you for taking the time to read my work.


The Daily Post Word Prompt: Portion

(c) Lyrical Tempest

http://lyricaltempest.com

2 thoughts on “Pantoum: A Portion of Life

Leave a Reply

