8/30: Today is Friday

PicsArt_04-08-10.45.46

Today is Friday and I’m feeling kind of defeated

I missed the mark with something and

I’m hoping it was just a momentary lapse in judgement on my part

I’m hoping it was just a miscalculated step in my plans

I’m hoping I can decipher and discern

What failure tastes like so I can learn how to best avoid this misstep in the future

 

I hope

I hope

I hope

 

Today is Friday and

I’m hoping the end of this week signifies

The end of other things

I hope for an end to mentalities that serve me no purpose

 

I crave a new start

I crave less of what is causing me to miss these marks and

I crave more of He who keeps me from falling off the deep end

 

Today is Friday and

I’m filled with enough hope to want to try again

I’m filled with enough hope yet not enough grace

Because there is too much of me

Too much self-effort

I’ve reached the end of this simple truth

I can’t afford the hits and losses

That come with me trying to manhandle my fate

 

Today is Friday

Today is the day I let go

Today is the day I take steps to fully trust the Lord

Today is the day I renew my mind and refresh my spirit

 

Today is Friday

Today is the day the Lord has made

I will rejoice and be exceedingly glad in it


 

Lyrical Tempest

Follow me on Twitter and like my page on Facebook

Leave a Reply

