Mistake (Pantoum)

It tastes like copper. It’s musky like defeat. It just clings to you.

I pivot around the thought. I balance my hope on a plinth to see

How it holds against the strain, to see if I can build something of value.

To grow is to learn. To learn is to suffer in a dance with chances.

 

I pivot around the thought. I balance my hope on a plinth to see

What is the best way to sculpt this truth without ruining what is left of my pride.

To grow is to learn. To learn is to suffer in a dance with chances.

Sometimes I go against the rhythm and color outside the lines.

 

What is the best way to sculpt this truth without ruining what is left of my pride?

What is ugly is also pivotal and poignant.

Sometimes I go against the rhythm and color outside the lines.

It seems I am unable to connect deep enough to understand the concept of boundaries.

 

What is ugly is also pivotal and poignant.

Success happens only after mistakes are embraced.

It seems I am unable to connect deep enough to understand the concept of boundaries,

Since the truth sharpens me to cut it out.

 

I cut. I trim. I sculpt. I stand back and examine the results. Is this the life I’ve created?

I pivot around the thought. I balance my hope on a plinth to see

What I’ve built. Mistakes are scars that meant I’ve lived.

To grow is to learn. To learn is to suffer in a dance with chances.


The Daily Post Word Prompt: Mistake

(c) Lyrical Tempest

http://lyricaltempest.com

 

Leave a Reply

