5/30: Goodbye – NaPoWriMo

“Goodbye” was first published in The Forgotten Lyrics in 2012. If you would like to read other poems in this collection, you can download the entire book for only $0.99 at Amazon.

Goodbye

I stepped up and

Found myself

Penning my own elegy

 

Disconcerting the old

The standard has become stale

 

I’ve become sick of being in this cage

That’s walled with mirrors

That cast reflections

Of dreams never lived

 

I’ve got layers to shed

And fears to unwed

 

I need to be free

Liberated of myself

To see past the rain

And at the rainbow that waits

 

I can no longer stay in this dream restricting cage

That siphons my freedom

 

I want out

I’ll break through

Every dream reflected

So I can awake and start living

 

This life that begs

For a chance to be

More than just a life

 

2 thoughts on “5/30: Goodbye – NaPoWriMo

Leave a Reply

