Interview: The Prolific Penman

Prolific1-9

Would you please tell us about yourself and your work?

My name is Adrian Pearson however, I am known as The Prolific Penman, which means fruitful writer. My style of poetry is love and inspiration.

At what point did you realize this was something you wanted to do?

I realized that I was a poet as I was coming out of a bad battle with depression over the loss of my youngest child at 5½ months. I knew that this was something I wanted to do because it was the only thing that I didn’t have to struggle to do. It seemed like second nature to take my pain and spin it into happiness.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I first considered myself a writer the moment I believed and spoke it. I am not trying to be spiritual but it is the truth. Had I not believed in the gift that was given to me and spoke to it as if it were a part of my very soul then poetry would be like so many other things I tried and either let go of or gave up on.

When and where do you write? Do you set writing goals?

I write anywhere for the fact that poetry is a living part of me and almost anything or anyone can inspire me to write. Yes, I set goals for myself when it comes to producing a book or creating a cover but never do I set goals when it comes to writing poetry.

How do you deal with writer’s block? What is your advice on how to overcome it?

If I should feel writers block coming on I always return to the place where I first began writing and that is outdoors where I honed my skills while riding a bike or walking the streets. The only suggestion that I would make is that a person return to the thing that inspired them to write or take a small break and channel their energy into another project until the writer’s block passes.

What is your first book of poetry called? When and where was it published? What is it about?

My first book is called Real Expression of Words Never Heard; The Poet, The Man, The Idea. I had this book pulled and since then it has become two completely separate books: Real Expression of Words Never Heard, which is published with Author House and The Poet, The Man, The Idea is being released as a chapbook before being majorly published.

How did you come up with the title?

Countless things inspire the titles to my books. Many of the titles have come to me while walking or riding my bike or in a dream while I was a sleep.

If you had to go back and do it all over, is there any aspect of this book that you would change? Why?

I did have to go back and change the first book because it wasn’t ready plus it was a test by God to see if I was willing to be obedient to the holy spirit. The reason why was so that He could show me the areas that needed to be improved upon. Looking over my first book showed me that I could become someone great if I kept applying myself to learning and perfecting my skills.

Can you tell us about your challenges in getting this book completed and published?

Writing the first book wasn’t hard but the cover design was a daunting task. Finding a publisher was tricky at first, but had I not paid paved the way for myself by giving the publishers a way to view just what type of poetry I write then I am sure that too would have been quite hard.

What advice would you give to writers who are contemplating writing their first book of poetry?

My advice: simply do not contemplate on doing something. Learn to trust the inner voice that cries out. You can win. Please remember that for every step you take, God has already taken two in front of you. Once you are in line with God’s word and start to operate within your gift all things and people will fall into place.

What is the hardest part of writing for you?

Nothing is hard about writing for me. It seems to flow like water but the only challenges I face are knowing which poems to publish online and which ones to hold onto for a book.

What’s the best thing about being a writer?

The best thing about being a writer is the freedom of self-expression and the ability to create a completely new world from words alone.

Please tell us about your latest book of poetry. What is it called? What is it about?

I have a book that is published with DIP Publishing and it’s tilted: An Outward Expression of My Inward Love. This book is about the love I felt for someone but didn’t quite know how to show it or express it with actions that would make sense, so I jotted down my emotions and every unspoken word in the hopes that she would read and then understand why I told her that I love her.

Can you describe one of your favorite poems that you wrote? Why does this poem stand out more so than the others?

One of the poems that stands out to me is a poem titled “Poetry Is My Mistress”. This poem was inspired by a disagreement I had with the mother of my children. She stated that I spent more time writing, publishing and pushing poetry than I did with her.

Why do you think your readers are going to enjoy your book?

I think people are going to enjoy the life that each poem takes on as well as the fact that everything I write is derived from truthful situations that happened in my life.

How do you market your work? What avenues have you found to work best for your genre?

I started off simply posting online and developed a name for myself there first. Once I was established online I moved on to performing, attending networking events and proceeding to tell any stranger that I would meet who I was, what I did, and even showed them how to find me.

What has influenced your development as a writer?

There are plenty of people who have played a role in the helping me develop as writer but the one person who helped give the words I write with such passion, such life, would have to be my son’s mother Stephane Leo. Everything I endured with her gave me the courage to turn all of my mishaps in life into a love story for others to read. Not only did she shape the way I now write poetry but she has also changed my outlook on life.

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as a writer? What has been the best compliment?

The toughest criticism came from someone I knew. They stated that I would give up and never see anything I did through. To be truthful anyone who has read my poems before I was known has always had great things to say and have encouraged me to keep going and to seek out others as well as to read other authors who wrote poetry so I could develop my gift. The greatest compliment would have to be receiving an award from The International Who’s Who In Poetry as well as one from the World Poetry Movement.

Do you have any favorite poets or favorite books?

My favorite poet would have to be Maya Angelou and my two favorite books are The Power of Positive Thinking by Norman Vincent Peale and Crazy Love by Francis Chan.

If you were writing a book about your life, what would the title be?

I had to write a book about my life the title would be The Power of One Choice.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

When I am not writing I enjoy doing freelance photography.

Are there any noncreative avenues you would like to explore?

I have tried to become so many things before becoming a poet that I would have to say no there aren’t any other noncreative avenues that I would like to explore at this time.

What motto, quote, or saying do you live by? Why?

The quote I live by is: “I did nothing to become good at what I do except honor God in everything I did.” This means that no matter if I am up or down, wrong or right that I will keep my eyes focused on God. I pray and constantly ask Him to show me His plans for my life because I have no clue as to what my purpose is.

Do you have any upcoming projects, tours, events, or announcements that you would like to share with our readers?

I have book called: An outward Express of My Inward Love that I am now promoting and would like to request for your readers to kindly pick up a copy. As well as a chapbook called The Poet, The Man, The Idea is coming soon.

Book Cover

Can you tell us where people can find you? Website, social media, blog, etc.

http://theprolificpenman.wix.com/prolificpenman

http://theprolificpenman.poetrycraze.com

http://theprolificpenman.wordpress.com

https://plus.google.com/u/0/+THEPROLIFICPENMAN

https://www.goodreads.com/author/quotes/6003477.The_Prolific_Penman

Leave a Reply

