2/30: Memory Lane – NaPoWriMo

As I mentioned in my previous post, many of my poems for NaPoWriMo will be written in the voice of my characters. Below is another one from Ethan.

 

Memory Lane

 

I’m here idle

With no fuel to propel me forward

 

How much longer

Must I stay in this lane

Where memories tease my senses

With images of the peace I no longer have

 

I’m stuck idolizing a moment of time

I can’t fix

I can’t seem to master time

To bribe it

To follow the rhythms of my dreams

I go left

While fate jerks me right

The whiplash has me

Suffering from the pains

Of adjusting to a state

I don’t wish to claim

 

I don’t want to be here

I’m not supposed to be here

Yet here is where I am

And I am here

Stuck in memory lane

Leave a Reply

