Interview: Author Reggie Stacks

Thank you for joining us. I’m excited to bring you my first blog interview. Today our interview is with novelist Reggie Stacks. Reggie is currently living in Atlanta, Georgia. He is the author of Ghetto Heaven and host of the TV show Kick Back with Stacks.

If this Q&A interview with Reggie grabs your interest and you would like to learn more about him, please visit his website.

Reggie IMG_5876 copy 2

Alice: Would you please tell us about yourself and your work?

Reggie: Hey everybody I’m Reggie Stacks, just your typical laid back type of guy, nothing fancy. I was born in North Carolina but I lived in Atlanta for 20 years. I’m a father of 3 who enjoys writing great books.

Alice: At what point did you realize this was something you wanted to do?

Reggie: I realized that once I had completed the rough draft of Ghetto Heaven and everyone was excited and liked it, I knew I was going to pursue this.

Alice: What has been your biggest motivation? Where does your inspiration come from?

Reggie: I have to say my biggest motivation comes from the need to succeed in all I do. Sharing my talents and gifts with others and giving readers a story they can relate to is motivating to me. Life is my inspiration.

Alice: What is your creative regimen? How often do you write?

Reggie: I tend to write the most and at my best on days when I can just zone out and have the TV turned on in the next room, not really watching it but just to have some noise or gangsta rap playing in the background.

Alice: How do you deal with writer’s block? What is your advice on how to overcome it?

Reggie: Writers block: just step away give your brain a rest then come back to it later. I remember writing Ghetto Heaven and it necessarily wouldn’t be writers block but I’d get stumped on how best to relay the next part. The advice to me was don’t force it and it’s true I read Ghetto Heaven all the time and I see parts where I feel like it was forced, not flowing naturally. Hey I guess it works – no one notices but me and fans love it so I guess just taking a break will help.

Alice: What do you do when you are not writing?

Reggie: Concentrate on my TV show and spend time with kids. Chase women and make money…just joking!

Alice: Do you have a day job as well?

Reggie: Not really unless someone wants to offer me a high paying less work job.

Alice: You wrote a book titled Ghetto Heaven. What is this book about?

Reggie GHGirl 2

Reggie: Ghetto Heaven is loosely about me. Seriously it’s a roller coaster ride of Curtis and his women. He has it all until an ex from the past threatens to destroy his newfound happiness.

Alice: How did you come up with the title?

Reggie: It’s catchy and it’s from a song very few people I’ve ran into remember.

Alice: What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

Reggie: I can’t really say I have a favorite chapter. I enjoyed writing it all. I’m like a fan that loves the whole book. I read one chapter, liked it then read the next chapter and liked that as well. It’s hard to pinpoint just one section.

Alice: Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?

Reggie: I would say its 50/50 real life experience mixed with a vivid imagination that makes for a great read.

Alice: Did you work with an outline, or just write?

Reggie: There was no formal training at all for this book to turn out the way it did. And for it to get accepted by readers I think I did a good job. I didn’t really do an outline, I just as I created or introduced characters along the way, although I had to keep notes on each one.

Alice: If given the chance, would you change anything about this book?

Reggie: Funny I ask myself that a lot. Before it was published I think I may have rewritten and changed the story about 10 times before I selected the story it is now. Can it be better? Sure but at some point you just have to choose and be happy with one edition

Alice: Can you tell us about your challenges in getting this book completed and published?

Reggie: The biggest challenge for me I have to say was deciding what to finally go with as far as all the rewrites, deleted chapters, and changes.

Alice: What advice would you give to writers who are contemplating writing their first novel?

Reggie: I speak with a lot of authors and I tell them all the same thing. Writing and completing it are the 1st steps – just do it.

Alice: How do you market your work? What avenues have you found to work best for your genre?

Reggie: I self-published my book and I wear all the hats. If you can afford marketing campaigns that’s great in addition to reviews, press releases, book signing and of course yourself. You are your biggest fan and know you best!

Alice: What has influenced your development as a writer?

Reggie: Honestly, giving my readers and fans my best force me to hone my writing skills. Plus reading other works I feel I can do much better.

Alice: What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What has been the best compliment?

Reggie: Believe it or not I haven’t had much criticism and I’ve been welcoming it. I feel like it’s the only way I can become a better writer. I guess the best compliments are when I’m repeatedly asked when is part 2 coming out.

Alice: Can you please share with us more about your show Kick Back with Stacks?

Reggie: Kick back with Stacks is my TV show. It’s a relaxed atmosphere where me and the guest kick back and chop it up about a variety of topics.

Alice: Can you please tell us about your upcoming book?

Reggie: Twisted…I’m so excited. It’s a collection of short stories that all have a twisted ending or tale. On this project I just want to connect with my readers and show them that my first novel wasn’t a one book wonder…lol. I write in different styles in Twisted from first person to third person and back to traditional bringing some good stories to life.

Alice: Are there any other genres or creative avenues you would like to explore (i.e. music, singing, painting, etc)?

Reggie: I think this is as creative as I get with writing…lol.

Alice: Are there any noncreative avenues you would like to explore?

Reggie: Yes I would love to take my TV show to the next level, maybe national or on cable channels across the US.

Alice: Can you share with us some of your goals for this year?

Reggie: Have Twisted out in stores before the spring and well as completing the trailer for Ghetto Heaven. I also want to be more mainstream, have viewers rushing to tune in to Kick Back with Stacks every Thursday.

Alice: Do you have any upcoming projects, tours, events, or announcements that you would like to share with our readers?

Reggie: Book signing at Nubian Bookstore on April 6th and April 12th-13th.

Alice: Thank you for taking the time to participate in this interview. What final thought and/or message would you like to leave with our readers?

Reggie: Thanks for having me, it was my pleasure to be on. I’m grateful for your interest in my campaign. I would like to thank all of those that checked out this blog for taking the time get to know Reggie Stacks. If you haven’t gotten Ghetto Heaven or want to know more check out http://www.ghettoheaven.net. Also, follow us on Twitter: @zopublishing. And please like us on Facebook: Zo Publishing Presents and Kick Back with Stacks. Think you have what it takes to have your work featured in Twisted, email me at reggiestacks@ghettoheaven.net.

* * * *

Leave a Reply

