Random Friday Poem

(Unedited)

I think of the opportunities I’ve missed

The ones I’ve messed up

And I’m equally reminded of memories from my youth

The small yellow butterflies

I used to chase and kill

Is the concept the same

Not fully understanding the beauty of the chase

The intent

The purpose

Just getting ahold of eggs and crushing them

Until they run and turn into the rope

That binds my fears against my heart

So that my relationship with fear is an intimate one

Much stronger than my fleeting affair with reassurance

Is that my issue

That I fail to understand the correlation between

Delicacy and time

The sensitive nature in which

The weight of opportunistic measures must be balanced

Leave a Reply

